Cat's Claw Supplements: Which Chemotype Are You Buying?
Cat's claw is one of the harder bottles to read on a supplement shelf, and most guides do not help. The plant behind the label grows in chemically opposite forms, the human research used more than one species, and the bottle rarely says which one you are holding. Here is what the studies tested, what they dosed, and what to check before you buy.
Why Cat's Claw Is Not One Plant
Uncaria tomentosa is a woody vine that climbs through the Amazon basin, and its inner bark has a long history of traditional use, reviewed in the toxicological literature [3]. In herbal practice it has been taken for digestive complaints and general immune support, and that heritage still shows in the way modern gut health formulas are built.
The first problem is the species. Some commercial cat's claw is Uncaria guianensis, a different species, and the two are not interchangeable in the research literature.
That matters, because the joint trials cited most often used Uncaria guianensis, not Uncaria tomentosa. We will come back to them.
The second problem is deeper, and it is chemical.
Two Chemotypes With Opposite Alkaloid Profiles
Wild Uncaria tomentosa occurs in nature as two chemotypes, meaning two populations of the same species that produce different alkaloid patterns. The roots of one type contain pentacyclic oxindole alkaloids, or POA. The roots of the other contain tetracyclic oxindole alkaloids, or TOA [1].
Those two families do not do the same job:
- Pentacyclic oxindole alkaloids (POA) act on the cellular immune system [1].
- Tetracyclic oxindole alkaloids (TOA) act on the central nervous system [1].
What makes it a buying decision is what happens when the two are combined. The tetracyclic alkaloids exert antagonistic effects on the action of the pentacyclic alkaloids, which means TOA works against POA. The same paper concludes that mixtures of the two types are unsuitable for medicinal uses [1]. For the wider context on how supplements are studied for immune effects, see our article on whether supplements can boost the immune system.
The tetracyclic alkaloids exert antagonistic effects on the action of the pentacyclic alkaloids. Mixtures of these 2 types of drugs are therefore unsuitable for medicinal uses. [1]
A later paper refined the picture into three chemotypes. Chemotype I and chemotype II both carry pentacyclic alkaloids but differ in their D and E ring junction, cis and trans, while chemotype III is the tetracyclic type. That review also notes the activity of the tetracyclic chemotype remains unknown [2].
So the plant arrives with two chemical identities that work against each other, and the label usually does not tell you which one you have. That is the whole buying problem in one sentence.
Then there is the supply side. There is no official standard for cat's claw extract, and drug-information monographs record that commercial preparations may consist of mixed plant sources with batch-to-batch variation. The toxicological review reaches the same point from the other direction, finding that composition and quality depend on how the preparation was made [3]. A bottle can be either chemotype, or a blend of both, without saying so.

What the Human Trials Actually Found
Now the numbers. The randomized trial that produced a measurable joint difference used a pentacyclic chemotype extract specifically [4].
- 40 participants.
- 24 weeks, double blind and placebo controlled.
- Painful joint count fell 53.2 percent on the extract versus 24.1 percent on placebo, p = 0.044.
Every participant was already on prescription therapy for rheumatoid arthritis, either sulfasalazine or hydroxychloroquine [4]. That drug background changes how you read the result. The extract was added on top of existing treatment, not used instead of it, and side effects were minor.
The authors themselves call it "this small preliminary study" [4]. That is the honest frame, and it is the one to keep.

The Species Switch Most Articles Miss
The two knee trials that circulate most widely online used a different species. Both tested Uncaria guianensis, not Uncaria tomentosa [5][6].
In the first, 45 participants took freeze-dried Uncaria guianensis or placebo for four weeks. Pain with activity and assessment scores improved, but knee pain at rest or at night, and knee circumference, did not change significantly [5].
The second is the important one. It randomized 107 people across four arms for eight weeks. The cat's claw arm used 100 mg per day of an Uncaria guianensis extract combined with a mineral supplement. The improvement versus placebo was not statistically significant [6].
If you are buying cat's claw for joint comfort, check whether the product, or the article behind it, is quoting a study on a different species.
Most cat's claw joint content inherits these two trials and never mentions the species switch. Now you know to look for it.
What Human Studies Actually Dosed
The amounts below are the ones human studies actually used. Note how much they differ, and how many used a prepared extract rather than raw root powder.
| Extract used in human studies | Species and chemotype | Dose reported | What it tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pentacyclic chemotype extract [4] | Uncaria tomentosa, pentacyclic (POA) | Not reported | Joint count over 24 weeks |
| Freeze-dried extract [5] | Uncaria guianensis | Not reported | Knee comfort over 4 weeks |
| Extract plus a mineral supplement [6] | Uncaria guianensis | 100 mg per day | Knee comfort over 8 weeks |
| Aqueous extract (C-Med-100) tablets [7][8] | Uncaria tomentosa | 250 or 350 mg per day; 350 mg twice daily | DNA repair and vaccine response |
Two extracts produced the immune findings worth knowing about.
Twelve healthy adults took 250 mg or 350 mg per day of an aqueous extract for eight weeks. DNA damage fell and DNA repair rose compared with unsupplemented controls, p < 0.05. There were no drug-related toxic responses on clinical chemistry or blood counts [7].
A second study gave 350 mg twice daily for two months and reported higher lymphocyte-to-neutrophil ratios and slower antibody titre decay after a pneumococcal vaccination, again without toxic side effects [8].
Both are small, and both used a proprietary aqueous extract, not an alcohol tincture or a raw root bark powder [7][8]. That matters when you compare products.
Drug-information monographs list other figures again, but none of those figures comes from a controlled human study, so treat the table above as the trial record and the serving on the label as the practical guide.

Where the Evidence Runs Out
Here is the honest part, and it is short.
- Only a handful of human studies exist, and they are small [4][5][6][7][8].
- They used different extracts and different species.
- No established dose exists, and no official standard tells you which chemotype a product contains.
One recent review asserts there are no randomized controlled trials or published human outcome studies at all [9]. That overstates the gap, since the trials above do exist, but they are small enough that the general caution is fair. The secondary literature does not agree on how thin the evidence is.
Cat's claw is a botanical with a real signal and a thin evidence base. Treat any confident claim about it with suspicion.
Browse our specialty support range for formulas that sit alongside a botanical like this one.
Cat's Claw Side Effects
Drug-information monographs list the commonly reported effects as mild: gastrointestinal upset, headache and dizziness.
Three published case reports describe more serious events. They are individual reports, not rates, but worth knowing before you buy.
- Reversible worsening of motor symptoms in a person with a neurological condition after oral intake of cat's claw [10].
- Biopsy-proven acute interstitial nephritis in a person using a ketogenic diet shake that contained the herb. Kidney function improved after the product was stopped and corticosteroid therapy was added [11].
- Severe delirium with refractory bradycardia in a 53-year-old after high-dose over-the-counter use. Heart rate fell to 29 to 40 beats per minute with first-degree AV block, and a permanent dual-chamber pacemaker was required [12].
A toxicological synopsis of the herb summarises the wider safety picture [3].
Because cat's claw shows immunostimulant activity in laboratory work [9], people taking immunosuppressant therapy and people with autoimmune conditions are the standard caution group. Pregnancy and the period before surgery are standard exclusions. If any of those apply to you, clear the herb with your prescriber first.
Drug Interactions and Your Prescriber
Cat's claw affects the liver enzyme system that clears many prescription drugs, which is why it matters for anyone on medication. For the wider picture on that organ system, see our guide to liver support supplements.
- Cat's claw extracts activate the pregnane X receptor, or PXR, and induce CYP3A4 expression. Seven specific PXR activators were identified in cat's claw extracts, all with an EC50 below 10 micromolar [13].
- In laboratory work, a commercial Uncaria tomentosa extract inhibited CYP3A4 by about 40 percent at a 1 percent concentration while strongly activating PXR [14].
- An earlier screen found cat's claw among the extracts with the lowest CYP3A4 IC50 values, under 1 percent of full strength, alongside goldenseal and St. John's wort [15].
- A systematic review of supplement and antiretroviral interactions concluded that cat's claw increases the levels of selected antiretrovirals, and that patients should be monitored [16].
Between the induction and the inhibition findings on the same enzyme system, cat's claw has a plausible route to changing drug levels. It is not a reason to stop or change a prescription on your own, and it is not a substitute for any therapy. It is a reason to mention it to your prescriber before you start.
How to Read a Cat's Claw Label
Most labels do not give you what you need. Here is the checklist, and if you want the broader skill first, our guide to reading a supplement label walks through it.
- Species. It should say Uncaria tomentosa. If it says Uncaria guianensis, know that the knee trials were done on that species [5][6].
- Plant part. Root bark, stem bark, or leaf. Root bark is where the chemotype finding was made [1].
- Chemotype. Ideally the label states the chemotype, or at least carries a TOA-free or pentacyclic-standardized claim [1][2].
- Standardization. A percentage tied to a named marker compound. The word standardized on its own means nothing.
- Extract type. Aqueous and hydro-alcoholic extracts behave differently, and the human studies used an aqueous extract [7][8].
- Ignore raw-root equivalents. A claim like equivalent to 3 grams of raw root says nothing about alkaloid profile.
A capsule product that names its species is easier to evaluate, for example Pure Encapsulations Cat's Claw. A liquid format, such as Quicksilver Scientific Cat's Claw Elite, lets you inspect extract type and serving more directly.
If the label does not name the species, the plant part and the chemotype, you cannot tell which cat's claw you are buying.
That is the check most buyers never make, and the one that decides whether the bottle does what the research suggests.

What We Recommend
Each of these names its format and its serving, which is the minimum for an informed choice.
Pure Encapsulations, Cat's Claw 90 and 180 Capsules
A cat's claw capsule format, offering a fixed daily serving that supports the body's normal immune response.
$45.40
Allergy Research Group, Cat's Claw 60 Veg Capsules
A vegetarian capsule format of cat's claw, suited to consistent daily use in an immune or specialty support routine.
$42.89
Quicksilver Scientific, Cat's Claw Elite 1.7 fl oz
A liquid extract format, useful when a dropper-dosed serving is preferred over a capsule, and easy to inspect for extract type.
$47.00
References
- Reinhard KH. Uncaria tomentosa (Willd.) D.C.: cat's claw, uña de gato, or savéntaro. J Altern Complement Med. 1999. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10328636/
- Kaiser S, Carvalho ÂR, Pittol V, Dietrich F, Manica F, Machado MM, et al. Genotoxicity and cytotoxicity of oxindole alkaloids from Uncaria tomentosa (cat's claw): Chemotype relevance. J Ethnopharmacol. 2017. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27180878/
- Valerio LG, Gonzales GF. Toxicological aspects of the South American herbs cat's claw (Uncaria tomentosa) and Maca (Lepidium meyenii): a critical synopsis. Toxicol Rev. 2005. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16042502/
- Mur E, Hartig F, Eibl G, Schirmer M. Randomized double blind trial of an extract from the pentacyclic alkaloid-chemotype of uncaria tomentosa for the treatment of rheumatoid arthritis. J Rheumatol. 2002. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11950006/
- Piscoya J, Rodriguez Z, Bustamante SA, Okuhama NN, Miller MJS, Sandoval M. Efficacy and safety of freeze-dried cat's claw in osteoarthritis of the knee: mechanisms of action of the species Uncaria guianensis. Inflamm Res. 2002. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11603848/
- Miller MJS, Mehta K, Kunte S, Raut V, Gala J, Dhumale R, et al. Early relief of osteoarthritis symptoms with a natural mineral supplement and a herbomineral combination: a randomized controlled trial. J Inflamm (Lond). 2005. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16242032/
- Sheng Y, Li L, Holmgren K, Pero RW. DNA repair enhancement of aqueous extracts of Uncaria tomentosa in a human volunteer study. Phytomedicine. 2002. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11515717/
- Lamm S, Sheng Y, Pero RW. Persistent response to pneumococcal vaccine in individuals supplemented with a novel water soluble extract of Uncaria tomentosa, C-Med-100. Phytomedicine. 2002. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/11515716/
- Della Valle V. Uncaria tomentosa. G Ital Dermatol Venereol. 2018. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29050447/
- Cosentino C, Torres L. Reversible worsening of Parkinson disease motor symptoms after oral intake of Uncaria tomentosa (cat's claw). Clin Neuropharmacol. 2009. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18836348/
- Portalatin G, Shettigar S, Carrion-Rodriguez A, Medikayala S, Herlitz L, Sandy D, et al. Ketogenic-Diet Shake Containing Uncaria tomentosa-Associated Acute Interstitial Nephritis. Case Rep Nephrol Dial. 2022. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36465572/
- Giovane R. Severe Delirium and Refractory Bradycardia Associated With Uncaria tomentosa Toxicity: A Case Report. Cureus. 2026. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/42712860/
- Lei S, Lu J, Cheng A, Hussain Z, Tidgewell K, Zhu J, et al. Identification of PXR Activators from Uncaria Rhynchophylla (Gou Teng) and Uncaria Tomentosa (Cat's Claw). Drug Metab Dispos. 2023. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36797057/
- Weiss J. Herb-Drug Interaction Potential of Anti-Borreliae Effective Extracts from Uncaria tomentosa (Samento) and Otoba parvifolia (Banderol) Assessed In Vitro. Molecules. 2019. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30602711/
- Budzinski JW, Foster BC, Vandenhoek S, Arnason JT. An in vitro evaluation of human cytochrome P450 3A4 inhibition by selected commercial herbal extracts and tinctures. Phytomedicine. 2001. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/10969720/
- Jalloh MA, Gregory PJ, Hein D, Risoldi Cochrane Z, Rodriguez A. Dietary supplement interactions with antiretrovirals: a systematic review. Int J STD AIDS. 2017. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27655839/
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between pentacyclic and tetracyclic oxindole alkaloids?
These are the two alkaloid families found in wild cat's claw, and they do not act the same way. Pentacyclic oxindole alkaloids act on the cellular immune system, while tetracyclic oxindole alkaloids act on the central nervous system [1]. The tetracyclic type exerts antagonistic effects on the pentacyclic type, which is why mixtures of the two are described as unsuitable for medicinal use [1]. A later paper splits the pentacyclic family further into two chemotypes and treats the tetracyclic type as a third [2].
What is a typical cat's claw dosage?
There is no established dose. The human studies used very different amounts: 250 mg or 350 mg per day of an aqueous extract in one trial, 350 mg twice daily in another, and 100 mg per day of a different species in a knee trial [6][7][8]. Drug-information monographs list other figures again. Because there is no official standard for the extract, follow the serving on the label of the product you choose rather than a number borrowed from an unrelated study.
Which cat's claw supplement is best?
The one that tells you what it contains. Look for the species (Uncaria tomentosa), the plant part (root bark, stem bark or leaf), the chemotype or a TOA-free claim, a standardization percentage tied to a named marker, and the extract type [1][2]. A product that omits all of that leaves you unable to tell which chemotype you are buying, and the two act in opposite directions [1].
Can I take cat's claw with prescription medication?
Talk to your prescriber first. Cat's claw activates the pregnane X receptor and induces CYP3A4, the enzyme that clears many drugs [13]. Laboratory work found roughly 40 percent CYP3A4 inhibition at a 1 percent concentration for one commercial extract [14], and another screen placed cat's claw among the strongest CYP3A4 inhibitors tested [15]. A review of supplement and antiretroviral interactions found cat's claw increases the levels of selected antiretrovirals, so monitoring is advised [16]. Because the herb has a plausible route to changing drug levels, it needs a prescriber's sign-off.
What are the common cat's claw side effects?
Gastrointestinal upset, headache and dizziness are the effects drug-information monographs list as commonly reported. Published case reports describe more serious events in individuals: reversible worsening of motor symptoms in a person with a neurological condition [10], biopsy-proven acute interstitial nephritis linked to a diet shake containing the herb [11], and severe delirium with refractory bradycardia in a 53-year-old after high-dose over-the-counter use [12]. Case reports are individual events and not rates, but they are the reason to respect the label serving.
Does cat's claw have to be TOA-free?
If the goal is the immune-related activity the pentacyclic chemotype is studied for, then a tetracyclic-free extract is the logical choice. The pharmacological literature reports that tetracyclic alkaloids antagonise pentacyclic ones and that the two types should not be mixed for medicinal use [1]. Some labels state TOA-free or pentacyclic-standardized, and many state nothing at all, which is the practical problem.
Is an alcohol tincture as good as a capsule?
They are not the same extract. The human studies that reported the immune and DNA-repair findings used an aqueous extract in tablet form, not an alcohol tincture or raw root bark powder [7][8]. A liquid product makes the extract type and the serving easier to inspect, but the specific extract used in those trials was aqueous. Match the format to the evidence where you can, and read the label for the extract type either way.




























